A Standing Ovation for DC Teachers


More than 1,000 of the District of Columbia’s most impressive and successful teachers, whose work has helped lead to the historic student achievement gains in the District of Columbia Public Schools, attended the annual Standing Ovation for DC Teachersnow in its fifth year, at the Kennedy Center Monday night.

Grammy-nominated Josh Groban presenting an award before he performed
At this year’s sold-out, record-breaking event, NBC 4’s Jim Vance emceed, Grammy-nominated singer Josh Groban performed, and thirty-seven outstanding DCPS teachers were honored (some with cash prizes!).

Eliot Hine Middle School Radio/TV program students with Mayor Muriel Bowser and their teacher, Sirius XM host Mandrell Birks
A few of those in attendance to salute the educators were DC Mayor Muriel Bowser, DCPS Chancellor Kaya Henderson, Bob Schieffer, Senator Al Franken, Amanda Ripley and David Rubenstein.

Mayor Muriel Bowser hugs Janeece Docal, who is presented the Principal of the Year award
Among the Excellence awardees (pictured in lead image) were:

  • Craig Duchemin, Charles Hart Middle School
  • Rachel Houghton, Peabody Elementary School
  • Para C. Perry, Amidon-Bowen Elementary School
  • Darlene Morris, H.D. Woodson High School
  • Janeece Docal, Principal of the Year, Powell Elementary School
  • Alecia Haughton-Francis, Ludlow-Taylor Elementary School
  • Charisse H. Robinson, Teacher of the Year, Cleveland Elementary School
  • Daryl Forte, Burrville Elementary School

*Images provided courtesy ReingoldLink

Add Comment