Refugees International 34th Annual Dinner Gala

May 2, 2013 @ 11:00 PM – May 3, 2013 @ 12:00 AM
National Building Museum
401 F Street Northwest
Washington, DC 20001
$400 +

Refugees International’s annual Anniversary Dinner is an exclusive awards ceremony and celebration honoring individuals who have demonstrated extraordinary leadership and commitment to humanitarian action. The evening includes the presentation of the McCall-Pierpaoli Award and special honors to those who labor to improve the lives of displaced people and remedy displacement crises across the world.

This year, Refugees International is pleased to present the McCall-Pierpaoli Award to Nobel Peace Laureate José Ramos-Horta, whose work as Prime Minister and President of East Timor brought peace and stability to an area of the world long in need of leadership on behalf of the marginalized. Working both within and alongside the United Nations, he has proven to be an effective bridge builder and peacemaker, and brought East Timor, Indonesia and Australia together to forge a new state. Currently he serves as United Nations Special Representative and Head of the United Nations Integrated Peacebuilding Office in Guinea-Bissau.

The Congressional Leadership Award recognizes Members of Congress for their support of issues that have critical impacts on refugees and displaced people. Past recipients include the late Congressman Donald Payne (D-NJ), Congressmen Chris
Smith (R-NJ), the late Senator Edward Kennedy (D-MA), Senator Gordon Smith (R-OR), Senator Sam Brownback (R-KS), Congresswoman Nita M. Lowey (D-NY) and Senator Patrick Leahy (D-VT).

The Richard C. Holbrooke Leadership Award recognizes those in local civil society who are the unsung heroes of neglected displacement crises. It is a tribute to Ambassador Holbrooke’s spirit as a great American statesman, consummate diplomat, and true humanitarian. The award was first given in 2011 to Amina Ali.


Add Comment