Washington Business Hall of Fame @ National Building Museum
Nov 28 @ 5:30 PM – 9:30 PM

Washington Business Hall of Fame founders Junior Achievement
of Greater Washington, the Greater Washington Board of Trade and Washingtonian
announced the 2018 Hall of Fame laureates. Since 1988, the Washington Business Hall of Fame
has recognized the professional and philanthropic contributions of outstanding business leaders in
our region who have made Greater Washington the city that it is today. The annual gala benefits
Junior Achievement of Greater Washington and its innovative financial literacy, work readiness, and entrepreneurship K-12 programs that inspire the next generation of leaders to navigate their path to the American Dream.

This year’s laureates are:
José Andrés
Chef/Owner, ThinkFoodGroup & minibar by José Andrés

Donald A. Brown, Joseph B. Gildenhorn, and Benjamin R. Jacobs
Founding Partners, The JBG Companies

Mark D. Ein
Founder & CEO, Venturehouse Group, LLC

Dr. Sachiko Kuno
Founder & Chair, Halcyon

“This year’s laureates are an example of what’s possible from our region’s business leaders,” said
Ed Grenier, President and CEO, Junior Achievement of Greater Washington. “Their passion for
excellence and steadfast commitment to this community is an inspiration to all of us and a lesson in leadership for Greater Washington’s future leaders, innovators, and entrepreneurs.”

Washington Business Hall of Fame laureates have shaped the regional landscape of Greater
Washington and consistently demonstrated outstanding business accomplishments, visionary
leadership, integrity and strong core values, and, passionate community engagement. Following a
call for nominations from the general public, final selections are made by a nomination committee
led by representatives of the three founding organizations. More than 100 remarkable laureates
have been inducted into the Washington Business Hall of Fame since its founding in 1988. A full list is available at

The laureates will be honored at a black-tie gala and awards ceremony, chaired by Grant Thornton
Partner in Charge, Markets, Industries, and Clients – Atlantic Coast Region, Richard P. LaFleur on
Wednesday, November 28 at the National Building Museum. At this year’s gala, more than 1,200
business and civic leaders will come together to honor this year’s laureates and raise more than
$1.4 million to support Junior Achievement of Greater Washington’s K-12 programs and their work to inspire over 66,000 students in our region annually to be financially capable, tenacious, and
equipped with the tools to manage risk effectively, solve problems creatively, and welcome
opportunity in an increasingly complex modern economy. The gala is presented by Capital One and
Grant Thornton.

To reserve a table and for event details, please visit

2 thoughts on “Coming Up

  1. Pingback: KSK Wins #DCTweeps Social Butterfly « K Street Kate

  2. Pingback: 2nd Annual DC Rum Day Kicks Off In a Yummy Way - K Street Magazine

Add Comment