Eudora Welty Lecture Features Pulitzer Prize-winning author Elizabeth Strout

March 23, 2023 @ 7:30 PM – 8:30 PM
National Press Club
The National Press Club
529 14th St NW, Washington

On Thursday, March 23 at 7:30 pm the Folger Shakespeare Library’s

O.B. Hardison Poetry Series presents the Eudora Welty Lecture with Pulitzer Prize-winning author

Elizabeth Strout (Olive Kitteridge, My Name is Lucy Barton) at the National Press Club. Sponsored

by the Eudora Welty Foundation, this annual lecture celebrates creative origins in the spirit of Welty’s

treasured One Writer’s Beginnings.

Ann Patchett (Bel Canto and The Dutch House), who presented the Lecture from Welty’s living room in

Jackson, Mississippi in 2022, will introduce Strout. The Lecture will be followed by a book signing with

Elizabeth Strout.

Tickets are $25 ($20 for Folger Members and subscribers) and can be purchased at

or by contacting the Folger Box Office at (202) 544-7077.

Previous Welty Lectures were delivered by Salman Rushdie in 2016, Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie in

2017, Richard Ford in 2018, Jesmyn Ward in 2019, and Ann Patchett in 2022.

Elizabeth Strout is widely known for her works in literary fiction and her descriptive characterization.

She was born and raised in Portland, Maine, and her experiences in her youth served as inspiration for

her novels—the fictional "Shirley Falls, Maine" is the setting of four of her seven novels. Strout's novels

include Amy and Isabelle, Abide with Me, Olive Kitteridge for which she won the Pulitzer Prize for

Fiction, The Burgess Boys, My Name Is Lucy Barton, Anything is Possible, Olive, Again, and Oh,

William!. Her latest book Lucy by the Sea was published in 2022.

Ann Patchett is the author of seven novels: The Patron Saint of Liars, Taft, The Magician’s

Assistant, Bel Canto, Run, State of Wonder, and Commonwealth. She has written three books of

nonfiction—Truth & Beauty, about her friendship with the writer Lucy Grealy; What Now?, an expansion

of her graduation address at Sarah Lawrence College; and This is the Story of a Happy Marriage, a

collection of essays examining the theme of commitment. In 2019, she published her first children’s

book, Lambslide.


Add Comment