National Philharmonic: Gershwin, Price & Beethoven

October 14, 2023 @ 7:30 PM – 9:30 PM
The Music Center at Strathmore
5301 Tuckerman Ln
North Bethesda
MD 20852

Saturday, October 14, 2023 at 7:30 p.m. at The Music Center at Strathmore

Gershwin, Price & Beethoven
Piotr Gajewski, conductor

Michelle Cann, piano


NatPhil’s 2023-2024 Season begins with a trio of enchanting works conducted by Maestro Piotr Gajewski, transporting listeners from the height of the Jazz Age to a pastoral countryside. Sensational pianist Michelle Cann opens the concert with Rhapsody in Blue, George Gershwin’s iconic fusion of classical and jazz styles, followed by the rich melodies and rhythms of Florence Price’s Piano Concerto in One Movement, which beautifully blends classical and African American musical traditions.


Beethoven’s Symphony No. 6—the “Pastoral Symphony”—celebrates the beauty of the natural world in five movements that usher audiences through the countryside, painting vivid imagery of a babbling brook, a crashing thunderstorm, and the people that coexist with nature.



George Gershwin, Rhapsody in Blue

Florence Price, Piano Concerto in One Movement

Ludwig van Beethoven, Symphony No. 6 (Pastoral)


Add Comment