Mayor Bowser Bestows Washington Women of Excellence Awards

“This year the world as we know it halted. We experienced unthinkable loss and unthinkable triumph… tragedy and success. And women have risen to the occasion,” said Jennifer Porter, Executive Director of the Mayor’s Office on Women’s Policy and Initiatives (MOWPI) from the Mayor’s Washington Women of Excellence Awards on Tuesday, March 30th.

The annual event to honor Washington’s amazing women who have “blazed trails, innovated and made us proud,” was dedicated to Sheroes. Because as Porter said, “If you are breathing right now, you can thank a woman.”

Among the recipients of the Mayor’s Shero Awards for 2021 are:

  • Jackie Bowens, President/CEO, DC Hospital Association 
  • Dr. Joelle Simpson, Pediatric Emergency Medicine Physician  
  • Kathy Hollinger, President and CEO, DC Restaurant Association 
  • Kim Ford, President and CEO, Martha’s Table 
  • Dyana Forester, President, Metro Washington Council 
  • Maya Martin Cadogan, Founder and Executive Director, Parents Amplifying Voices in Education (PAVE) 
  • Stacey Price, Founder/Owner, Shop Made in DC 
  • Rachel Payton, Founder and President, BeGreatDC 
  •  Eboni Rose Thompson, Ward 7 COVID Coalition

Mayor Bowser also offered her Excellence in Service Citation to several women in government who work to improve the lives of Washingtonians.

“The women we are honoring… have gone above and beyond to keep Washingtonians safe, healthy, and connected,” Bowser said. “We see you. We appreciate you. and We support you.”

Recipients of the Mayor’s Excellence in Service Citation for 2021 are:

  • Dr. LaQuandra Nesbit, Director, DC Health- DMHHS 
  • Kristi Whitfield, Director, DSLBD- DMPED 
  • Dr. Unique Morris-Hughes, Director, DOES-DME 
  • Dr. Jenifer Smith, Director, DFS-DMPSJ 
  • Karima Woods, Commissioner, DMOI 
  • Betsy Cavendish, General Counsel, EOM 
  • Lindsey Parker, Chief Technology Officer

Add Comment