Festive Ways to Celebrate Easter in 2021

Oh no! The White House Easter Egg Roll is canceled this year, but there are other places to head for egg hunts, outdoor fun, and a chance to meet the Big Bunny himself. Here are some of the most festive ways we’ve found to celebrate the Easter season:

Easter Treasure Hunt

The popular O Museum at the Mansion is holding a hunt to search for special Easter and spring-themed items found only at The Mansion. And while you’re hunting, you can explore the Mansion’s themed rooms and search for secrets doors.  This Treasure Hunt includes Easter candy, exploration, and even prizes for best dressed and best Easter bonnet! Tickets are $40/person. Advance online reservations required. Last hunt happens on 4/5!

Meet the Bunny

Dulles Town Center invites everyone to a picture-perfect photo session with the Easter Bunny from 11 am to 7 pm each day until April 3rd. Professional photos will be taken from a COVID-safe six-foot distance, and each picture will be professionally staged to minimize the visibility of that distance. While strongly encouraged, a reservation is not required. But if you still prefer a virtual Easter celebration, Dulles Town Center also offers Virtual Postcards to the Easter Bunny, Easter photo filters to Bunnify Yourself, and Easter Coloring and Activity Sheets.

Brunch En Suite

Astro Doughnuts & Fried Chicken Easter Doughnut. Image courtesy: Scott Suchman

There are a number of excellent restaurants offering Easter Brunch — too many to list, in fact! But we love that you can experience Opaline Bar & Brasserie’s French-inspired Easter Brunch on Sunday April 4th from 11 am until 2 pm either in Opaline or choose to reserve a guest room or suite for up to six guests, for two and a half hours at no additional cost with a $90 minimum per reservation.

Get Glazed

Astro Doughnuts & Fried Chicken has added a special holiday doughnut to the menu. This year’s Easter Doughnut features a mango glaze, toasted coconut, a Peeps marshmallow bunny, and jelly beans and is available for pre-order and in limited quantities only on April 3rd and 4th at the Downtown DC, Shaw, and Falls Church locations. Each Easter Doughnut is $3.95.

Go On a Hunt Online

Watson Adventures unveiled its latest online scavenger hunt for “eggs” of all shapes and sizes. In the New! Great Eggspectations: The Online Easter Egg Hunt Game (March 27, 8 p.m. ET, 5 p.m. PT; April 3, 7 p.m. ET, 4 p.m. PT; and April 4, 4 p.m. ET, 1 p.m. PT) you’ll follow a trail of clues, virtually visit museums and other places to discover jeweled eggs, dinosaur eggs, 3D models of egg cartons, Julia Child’s eggs-traordinary kitchen, and more.

Add Comment