Refugees International’s 40th Anniversary Dinner

April 30, 2019 @ 5:30 PM – 10:30 PM
Andrew W. Mellon Auditorium,
1301 Constitution Avenue NW

Refugees International will honor former special representative of the United Nations Secretary General for International Migration and former UN High Commissioner for Human Rights and senior counsel at Borden Ladner Gervais LLP Louise Arbour with its highest humanitarian honor, the McCall-Pierpaoli Award, for her lifetime of work in the pursuit of justice and human rights at its 40thAnniversary Dinner on Tuesday, April 30, 2019. The award will also be presented to former president of Portugal H.E. Jorge Branco de Sampaio and President of the Carnegie Corporation Dr. Vartan Gregorian in recognition of their joint efforts to support Syrian students to pursue their higher education with the Global Platform for Syrian Students and the Carnegie Corporation of New York.

“This year’s awardees have demonstrated incredible willingness to take on the most difficult challenges and push the international community to do better in pursuit of justice and human rights,” said Refugees International President Eric Schwartz. “We are humbled to be able to present them with this honor.”

Refugees International will also honor Taller Salud, a humanitarian aid group in Puerto Rico, with its Richard C. Holbrooke Award for providing critical services and unwavering support to the people of Puerto Rico in the wake of Hurricanes Irma and María. U.S. Representative Will Hurd of Texas will receive Refugees International’s 2019 Congressional Leadership Award for his commitment to public service and recognition that humanitarian principles must inform policymaking toward those who have been forced to flee their homes. And Mayor Wilmot Collins of Helena, Montana will receive Refugees International’s Exceptional Service Award for his extraordinary advocacy on behalf of refugees not only in Helena but throughout the United States.

This year’s Anniversary Dinner Benefit Committee Chairs are Vali and Darya Nasr. Ambassador to the United States from Costa Rica Dr. Fernando Llorca Castro and Mrs. Evelyn Cermeño will serve as the evening’s Honorary Committee Chairs. Sarah Bovim, Vice President Government Relations at the Whirlpool Corporation, and Jodi Bond, Executive Vice President of Global Government & Industry Affairs at Chubb, will chair the Global Partnership Initiative.

Refugees International’s Anniversary Dinner is its largest fundraising event of the year. The celebration honors individuals and organizations that demonstrate extraordinary leadership and commitment to humanitarian action, changing the lives of refugees and displaced people around the world. Past honorees include Founder and CEO of Chobani Hamdi Ulukaya, Syria’s White Helmets, Sir Richard Branson, Rohingya human rights activist Tun Khin, journalist Maureen Orth, among many others. Attendees of the Anniversary Dinner include Members of Congress, diplomats, representatives of corporations, foundations, and nongovernmental organizations, and individuals whose generous support enables Refugees International to serve as a powerful voice for displaced people around the world.

This year’s event has made possible by corporate sponsorships from Chubb, Gilead Sciences, and

Repsol Oil & Gas, LLC and through generous gifts from our 40th Anniversary Celebratory Circle sponsors Eileen Shields-West and Robin West; our Lifesaving Circle sponsors Maureen White and Steven Rattner and Elizabeth and Michael Galvin; our Humanitarian Circle sponsors Jan Weil and Amos Avgar; our Changemaker sponsors Nina and Dino Saglimbeni and the Kathwari Family Foundation; and our Visionary sponsors George and Frederica Valanos, among others.


Add Comment